Bliss…

Kutti was tied to the little brown log that was firmly rooted to the ground and locked with a chain as always. I was sitting on the flight of stairs just outside the house waiting for my grandma to leave. she is always careful about every little thing even if it is of no Significance and she was today, with the little shiny key that locked kutti. she wouldn’t give it to us not if we were lying on the bed waiting for our last wish of possessing the key come true.

She got ready to leave saying “Stay safe. Don’t forget to wear your shoes when you go out” I saw her leave and sat there thinking what I was going to do for the rest of the day while I longingly looked at kutti who was still tied, wishing he was free to take me somewhere around the country side.

It was boring and almost mid-morning. It was beautiful. The birds were chirping and the  squirrels were fighting for the cashew nuts strewn all over the  tiny not-so-symmetric bunch of stairs made of mountain rocks which take you down the hill to the narrow muddy road roofed by the thick green foliage preventing any kind of light from hitting the mud.

Maya came running once my grandma went out of sight, showing me something that was glimmering in the mild sun peeping out of the clouds.It was Kutti’s key. She was haughtily  grinning away to glory while she said “I stole it from grandma! what a dream come true” . Her voice set  a vibe of troubled pleasure. We slyly went near the beautiful white pony and Maya was just about to open it.The lock was little rusted and I bent down to help her open it up.

Suddenly kutti got a little restless and I heard some boots dashing  against the stone staircase. I turned back and I saw a couple of Cops walking up hurriedly.I asked them what the matter was and he questioned us and then all I did was flirt with the officer to get rid of him.Don’t really know if the officers were real or I was hallucinating or how they knew that we were up to some mischief.

Soon we opened up Kutti and I went to wear my shoes. There was something that pricked me inside the shoe. I put my hand in and took out a little rusted key. I took it out and smiled to myself.I had a familiar feeling,  that of troubled pleasure and I understood what Maya my little sister felt when she showed it to me, though it was for a completely different reason. My gran trusted me.

The alarm screamed. There was No white Pony, No staircase,No narrow road and No grandma.I had to get up get ready and get to work. The thought of this made me just lie down again and close my eyes and remember the beautiful countryside and the beautiful white Pony once again. I did it and It was Bliss indeed to have a perfect dream even when you know it can never come true.

Leave a Reply

